Sunday, December 28, 2014

Pure Body Naturals 100% Pure & Natural Lemon Essential Oil Review


Disclosure of material connection. I received this product for review via Tomoson in exchange for my honest thoughts. I was not required to write a positive review and all opinions stated are 100% my own.

I know that the last few years it has become really popular to use essential oils (I am so thrilled to see it, they are so very useful!) but I have been using some of the basic ones (lavender, peppermint, tea tree) for a good decade now and I am always experimenting with new ones and new ways to use them. I don't know why I have never thought to use lemon oil previously, but I was excited to give it a try. The first thought I had was that it would make a fantastic cleaner so I set out to find a great cleaning recipe on the internet. I very quickly found one using nothing more than water, vinegar and the lemon essential oil, mixed it all in a spray bottle and went to work on my kitchen table. The table I have is not that easy to clean. It is marble and it takes some elbow grease to get very clean. I normally use cleaner from The Honest Company and it works pretty well, but when I used this homemade cleaner, well let's just say I haven't seen my table as beautifully shiny since it first arrived in my house.  Needless to say I will continue to use this cleaning mix. 

Not only is lemon oil good for cleaning, it is a terrific oil to diffuse. it adds a fresh, clean scent that adds a great energy to your day. Other uses include adding a drop to your water to help aid digestion (I plan to start doing this asap), it can help with skin disorders, hair conditions and tiredness as well as many other ailments. Lemon essential oil is definitely one of the multi-purpose eo's you should have in your collection. 

You can purchase Pure Body Naturals 100% Pure and Natural Lemon Essential Oil on Amazon.com.

Friday, December 26, 2014

The Plan Cookbook by Lyn-Genet Recitas (Cookbook Review)

Disclosure of material connection- I received a copy of the book via Netgalley. I was not required to write a positive review and all opinions stated are 100% my own.

About the book-

In her New York Times and USA Today bestseller The Plan, Lyn-Genet Recitas revealed what surprisingly "healthy" foods cause weight gain and a host of other health problems such as migraines, joint pain, and depression. Now all those who followThe Plan, and have learned which foods to eliminate from their diets, can support their new, healthier lifestyle with these delicious recipes. Recitas includes selections for breakfast, lunch, dinner, snacks, sides, and desserts, such as Panko Crusted Orange Chipotle Chicken, Brazilian Coconut Rice, Provencal Fish with Fennel, Lemon, and Herbs, Red Velvet Cupcakes, and many more. Who says a healthy diet can't be a tasty one?


My thoughts-


I hadn't previously heard of the book The Plan that the cookbook is a companion to, but as I read the cookbook's first few chapters it was clear to me that there was enough information in the cookbook to be able to follow the plan. Even without the plan the cookbook stands alone nicely as a book full of healthy recipes, however I definitely recommend reading through the beginning. There is some great information that you probably have not read about before, at least in great  detail, about how there are several foods that are known as healthy foods that may cause inflammation in certain people making it difficult for those people to lose weight and keep it off. There are also great testimonials sprinkled throughout the book telling you of the successes people have had following the plan.  There will probably be at least one testimonial you can relate to, there was one that sounds exactly like every problem I have and that makes me so excited to try out these recipes. I love that the plan is not a diet, but a way of life. It is really about finding out what works for your own body. I have every intention to give this plan a try and I have every bit of confidence that it will be helpful on my journey to getting to the optimal health for my body. I look forward to trying the tasty sounding recipes and look forward to seeing what my results are.  I recommend this book for anyone who is interested in health and wellness or who has had problems in the past trying to lose weight and keep it off.


The Plan Cookbook will be available on December 30th. You can pre-order it on Amazon.com.


Connect with Lyn-Genet Recitas on Facebook
Connect with Lyn-Genet Recitas on Twitter
Connect with Lyn-Genet Recitas on Goodreads
lyngenet.com

Wednesday, December 17, 2014

The Secrets of Life and Death by Rebecca Alexander (Book Review)

Disclosure of material connection- I received a copy of the book from the publisher via Blogging for Books. I was not required to write a positive review and all opinions stated are 100% my own. 

About the book-

In modern day England, Professor Felix Guichard is called in to identify occult symbols found on the corpse of a young girl. His investigation brings him in contact with a mysterious woman, Jackdaw Hammond, who guards a monumental secret--She's Dead. Or she would be, were it not for magic which has artificially extended her life. But someone else knows her secret. Someone very old and very powerful, who won't rest until they've taken the magic that keeps her alive....

In Krakow in 1585, Dr John Dee, the Elizabethan Alchemist and Occultist, and his assistant Edward Kelley have been summoned by the King of Poland to save the life of his niece, the infamous Countess Elisabeth Bathory. But they soon realize that the only thing worse than the Countess' malady, is the magic that might be able to save her...
As Jackdaw and Felix race to uncover the truth about the person hunting her, it becomes clear that the answers they seek can only be found in the ancient diary of John Dee's assistant, Edward Kelley. Together they must solve a mystery centuries in the making, or die trying.


My thoughts- 

I love books that are rooted in history and this book definitely had some historical aspects. In fact, I was unfamiliar with John Dee, Edward Kelley and Elisabeth Bathory so through reading this, I was introduced to a whole side of history I was unaware of and I love that. I definitely did some research after I was done to learn more about each of them. Besides the historical aspect of the book, there is also a modern day story interwoven which is another thing that makes me love this novel. I like having a novel having both a present day story and a story set in the passed and threaded together. It is like getting a two for one deal and it is always really cool to see how everything comes together in the end. It has been a while since I have read a story with supernatural elements so I was due for a nice fantasy like novel and this one didn't disappoint. For me, The Secrets of Life and Death was a page turner. Since I was unaware of the true to life magic and witchcraft stories (although the novel is loosely based on the acutal events in history) I was hooked on finding out exactly what happened to John Dee and Edward Kelley. The present day story about Jack and Felix and the girl that Jack is trying to save is also very intriguing. I spent the entire book wondering what would become of all of the present day players because it really could have went several ways. This is a quick and very interesting read. I would recommend it to anyone interested in historically based fiction or stories about witchcraft. 

You can get your copy of The Secrets of Life and Death on Amazon.com. 

About the author-

Rebecca Alexander is a novelist and poet that lives in North Devon, England. The Secrets of Life and Death was her dissertation novel and was a runner up in the Mslexia 2011 novel writing competition. It is the first part in a trilogy!

Connect with Rebecca Alexander on Goodreads

Wednesday, December 10, 2014

The Secret of Pembrooke Park by Julie Klassen (Book Review)

Disclosure of material connection- I received a copy of the book from Bethany House Publishers in exchange for my honest review. All opinions stated are 100% my own.


About the book-


Abigail Foster is the practical daughter. She fears she will end up a spinster, especially as she has little dowry, and the one man she thought might marry her seems to have fallen for her younger, prettier sister.
Facing financial ruin, Abigail and her father search for more affordable lodgings, until a strange solicitor arrives with an astounding offer: the use of a distant manor house abandoned for eighteen years. The Fosters journey to imposing Pembrooke Park and are startled to find it entombed as it was abruptly left: tea cups encrusted with dry tea, moth-eaten clothes in wardrobes, a doll's house left mid-play . . .
The handsome local curate welcomes them, but though he and his family seem acquainted with the manor's past, the only information they offer is a stern warning: Beware trespassers drawn by rumors that Pembrooke Park contains a secret room filled with treasure.
This catches Abigail's attention. Hoping to restore her family's finances—and her dowry—Abigail looks for this supposed treasure. But eerie sounds at night and footprints in the dust reveal she isn't the only one secretly searching the house.
As old friends and new foes come calling at Pembrooke Park, secrets come to light. Will Abigail find the treasure and love she seeks . . . or very real danger? 



My thoughts-

I have never met a Julie Klassen book that I haven't liked. Several years ago I joined an online book club. For whatever reason, it didn't last long, but I will forever be grateful for a book I discovered for the little while it was going called The Apothecary's Daughter. It started my love of all things Julie Klassen and several books later, I still feel the same way. I can not wait as each new book is being written and promoted and finally when it comes out, I will devour it in a short sitting, love it and then wait patiently (or not so much) for the next book to come out. So of course, I was stoked for The Secret of Pembrooke Park to come out. I have been waiting for months to read it. I loved that the plot sounded like there was a nice twist to the typical historical romance with  a bit of a mystery. It was a lot of fun reading about Abigail and her father moving into the big house and following along as Abigail tries to figure out why the house was abandoned and who is writing her letters about it. As always, I enjoyed the romantic aspect of things, and Abigail has no shortage of admirers. There is a terrific cast of characters that live on the grounds of the house that add a great deal to the story, especially Mac, Leah and William. This is really an action packed book full of great twists and turns. I recommend it to anyone who enjoys reading Regency era historical fiction. 

The Secret of Pembrooke Park is available now at Amazon.com and other retailers nationwide.

About the author-

Julie Klassen loves all things Jane—Jane Eyre and Jane Austen. A graduate of the University of Illinois, Julie worked in publishing for sixteen years and now writes full time. Three of her books, The Silent GovernessThe Girl in the Gatehouse, and The Maid of Fairbourne Hall, have won the Christy Award for Historical Romance. She has also won the Midwest Book Award, Christian Retailing’s BEST Award, and has been a finalist in the Romance Writers of America’s RITA Awards, Minnesota Book Awards, and ACFW’s Carol Awards. She blogs athttp://www.inspiredbylifeandfiction.com.
Julie and her husband have two sons and live in a suburb of St. Paul, Minnesota. 


Connect with Julie Klassen on Facebook
Connect with Julie Klassen on Twitter
Connect with Julie Klassen on Goodreads
www.julieklassen.com



The Life Intended by Kristin Harmel (Book Review)

Disclosure of material connection- I received a copy of the book from the publisher via Netgalley. I was not required to write a positive review and all opinions stated are 100% my own.

About the book-

From the author of the international bestseller The Sweetness of Forgetting, named one of the Best Books of Summer 2012 by Marie Claire magazine, comes a captivating novel about the struggle to overcome the past when our memories refuse to be forgotten.

In this richly told story where Sliding Doors meets P.S. I Love You, Kristin Harmel weaves a heart-wrenching tale that asks: what does it take to move forward in life without forgetting the past?

After her husband’s sudden death over ten years ago, Kate Waithman never expected to be lucky enough to find another love of her life. But now she’s planning her second walk down the aisle to a perfectly nice man. So why isn’t she more excited?

At first, Kate blames her lack of sleep on stress. But when she starts seeing Patrick, her late husband, in her dreams, she begins to wonder if she’s really ready to move on. Is Patrick trying to tell her something? Attempting to navigate between dreams and reality, Kate must uncover her husband’s hidden message. Her quest leads her to a sign language class and into the New York City foster system, where she finds rewards greater than she could have imagined.


My thoughts-

I have been anxiously awaiting a new book from Kristin Harmel since I read The Sweetness of Forgetting a few years ago. It took a few years, but it was worth the wait. I was excited when I saw the beautiful cover and even more excited when I read the plot synopsis. I love books that deal with alternate realities, it is just interesting to me to imagine more than one possible outcome for a character (even if in this case the other reality was a series of dreams, this alternate reality felt very real to Kate). This book had many elements that I absolutely adored. I am a sucker for a romance so I was more than happy to follow Kate on her journey, but I also loved that this book explored the Deaf community. It is always great to read about a subject or group of people that don't always make appearances in novels. I loved seeing how the dreams with Patrick and the charity work with orphaned kids with special needs all tied together at the end. This was  a page turner that I absolutely couldn't put down and finished in a couple of days time.  I recommend this book to anyone who enjoys Women's fiction, love stories, dramas or learning about new subjects. The Life Intended should definitely be on your to-read list!

The Life Intended will be available for purchase December 30th. You can pre-order your copy on Amazon.com. 

Connect with Kristin Harmel-
On Facebook
On Twitter
On Goodreads
On Pinterest
http://kristinharmel.com/

Friday, December 5, 2014

The Lumo Project: Gospel of John- Now on Netflix!

Disclosure of material connection- I received early access to watch The Gospel of John via FlyBy Promotions in exchange for my honest review. I was not required to write a positive review and all opinions stated are 100% my own.


About the film:

FOUR GOSPELS. FOUR FILMS. ONE JESUS STORY. FOR EVERYONE.
A ground breaking, multi-language biblical film resource transforming the way we discover, study and engage with the life of Jesus through the four New Testament Gospels.
The Lumo Project is a ground breaking, multi-language biblical film resource transforming the way we discover, study and engage with the life of Jesus through the four New Testament Gospels: redefining the standard of visual Biblical media. The Lumo Project presents four films – one for each Gospel account – that will revolutionize the way we all experience the story of Jesus and the world of First Century Palestine in which he lived.
THE GOSPEL OF JOHN
The Gospel of John takes the story of Jesus from John’s gospel with its own unique characteristics. For John, Jesus is the Word of God made human. John is clear that that when encounter Jesus, we encounter God.  The gospel writer points to the miracles (the ‘Signs’) and teachings as evidence of Jesus’ special relationship as the divine Son of God.
This full-length feature film about the life of Jesus takes the actual Gospel text as its script, word for word, unedited. Five years in the making, this epic production has been critically acclaimed by leading religious scholars as a unique and highly authentic telling of the Jesus story. Narrated by leading British actor David Harewood (‘Homeland’, ‘Blood Diamond’, ‘Merchant of Venice’) it is based on the latest theological, historical and archaeological research. With specially constructed sets and the extraordinarily authentic villages and countryside of rural Morocco, it immerses the viewer in the world of first century Palestine.

My thoughts-

When I heard about the Lumo Project and that the Gospel of John was going to be available on Netflix, I was intrigued. I love that they have it in both the King James version and the New International version so you can hear it in the text you are used to or more comfortable with or even watch them both to better understand both versions. I thought it was a great idea to have a narration of the gospels playing as actors act out all of the verses and chapters. Sometimes it can be hard to sit down and continue to just read such long texts, especially when you have done it many times in the past, but to have it come alive right before your eyes as you hear the verses really helps all of the words and stories really sink in. It really is a great way to really learn the gospels word for word. I always love watching movies set in Biblical times because I find it fascinating to see and think about what people lived like then and how it might have been to live during the same time as Jesus was around. I thought that the Lumo Project did a very good job making me feel like I could be there and to help paint a beautiful picture of what that time period might look like. I also think it is brilliant to place these movies portraying the gospels on Netflix since they have billions of viewers. Our prayer should be that these movies will reach the hearts of the lost and I truly think they will. I enjoyed watching the Gospel of John and I will look forward to watching the other three when they are made available. You can watch the Gospel of John right now on Netflix. Be sure and pass along the word!


Connect with the Lumo Project on Facebook
Connect with the Lumo Project on Twitter

Sunday, November 30, 2014

Rumors of War (Movie Review)

Disclosure of material connection- I received a copy of the movie from Edify Media in exchange for my honest review. I was not required to write a positive review and all opinions stated are 100% my own. 


About the movie-

 is a suspenseful, genre-bending film with two converging storylines. An aspiring college journalist finds herself searching for answers when she investigates end-time prophecies for a term paper. Recording her research in a diary, her findings prove to have more of an impact than she could have ever imagined.

Her diary is discovered years later, in the rubble of a post-apocalyptic society filled with decay and violence. With the truth of what really happened to the world in its pages, the book finds its way into to the hands of an officer in the New World Army. But what will he do with this new found truth?


My thoughts-

In a time where dystopian movie and books are very popular with the masses, this post-apocalyptic story certainly fits in. What I like about it, is that though it is a work of fiction, it takes it's main idea from Revelations...concerning the rapture and the mark of the beast. It is given a bit of a modern twist with the "chip" that is to be implanted in everyone serving as the mark of the beast and the thing that Christians need to avoid. I thought that the movie was a very interesting concept. It is always interesting to think about how things might go down concerning the mark of the beast and how it could just happen at any time. I enjoyed the movie, the suspenseful and post-apocalyptic aspect of it, but for some reason I felt like it was missing something although I can not quite put my finger on what it was. I thought it was a great effort and an enjoyable movie for the family that could be a great conversation starter. I would recommend this movie to anyone who enjoys movies about the aftermath of the apocalypse or are interested in the points of interest in Revelations.

Connect with Rumors of War on Facebook
Connect with Rumors of War on Twitter
Rumors of War is available at Amazon.com


Watch the Rumors of War trailer below-

Saturday, November 29, 2014

Jesus Boat: Witness to Prophecy (DVD Review)

*Disclosure of material connection- I received a copy of the dvd via Edify Media in exchange for my honest thoughts. I was not required to write a positive  review and all opinions stated are 100% my own.  

About the movie- 

The astounding prophetic rebirth of Israel is told through the discovery of an ancient and unlikely artifact found under the shores of the Sea of Galilee. A first century fishing boat, identical to the boat Jesus sailed upon with his disciples, was destroyed in the years Israel was destroyed by the Romans, but found 2000 years later in a series of astonishing events that even scientists called a miracle. Mirroring Israel's own story of devastation and survival, the boat from the time of Jesus, would rise against all odds and float upon the Sea of Galilee once more as the oldest surviving freshwater boat in the world. Featuring commentary from some of the great theologians of our day including Franklin Graham, Joel Rosenberg, Jay Sekulow, Skip Heitzig, Chuck Smith and more.

My thoughts-

I don't know how but I had never heard the story of this boat until I watched this fascinating documentary. Listening to the people involved talk about how they came across it, the work that went into restoring it, this was just such an interesting thing to learn about. For me  personally, it was really cool thinking that even if this wasn't *the* boat that Jesus and his disciples used, it is very similar and it was definitely around when Jesus walked the Earth. The sheer thought that a boat that could float during the first century could survive all of these years enough to be restored and displayed...that could only be a Jesus thing. It definitely seems to parallel the story of Israel's survival. I enjoyed listening to all of the stories of the people who worked on the boat, as well as some of the commentary. There were several really cool stories within the story (a huge storm after the boat was found after a very long drought, and the fact that it took 12 years to restore the boat were two of my favorite things that I learned during the documentary.) If you are at all interested in history or Christianity, you will enjoy this documentary. Now, if I could only hop on a plane and see it in person! For now, I am happy to have come across such an interesting piece of history through Jesus Boat.




Watch the movie trailer below- 


Wednesday, November 26, 2014

A Kitchen in France: A Year of Cooking in My Farmhouse by Mimi Thorisson (Cookbook Review)

Disclosure of material connection- I received a copy of the book from the publisher via Blogging for Books. I was not required to write a positive review and all opinions stated are 100% my own. 

About the book-

With beguiling recipes and sumptuous photography, A Kitchen in France transports readers to the French countryside and marks the debut of a captivating new voice in cooking.

When Mimi Thorisson and her family moved from Paris to a small town in out-of-the-way Médoc, she did not quite know what was in store for them. She found wonderful ingredients—from local farmers and the neighboring woods—and, most important, time to cook. Her cookbook chronicles the family’s seasonal meals and life in an old farmhouse, all photographed by her husband, Oddur. Mimi’s convivial recipes—such as Roast Chicken with Herbs and Crème Fraîche, Cèpe and Parsley Tartlets, Winter Vegetable Cocotte, Apple Tart with Orange Flower Water, and Salted Butter Crème Caramel—will bring the warmth of rural France into your home.

My thoughts- 

French cuisine may rank at the highest of my culinary list, so I am always excited to come across a good French cookbook. In my experience, even the easiest of French recipes turn out to be delicious and taste like you have put tons of effort into them. A Kitchen in France doesn't have a lot of simple recipes, but what it does have are mouthwatering recipes that will impress anyone you are cooking for. I would probably use this book more for dinner parties and special occasions, but I would definitely cook some of these desserts on an anytime basis. I love the beautiful pictures of the food and life around the farmhouse. This is a lovely book that you could even set out as a coffee table book or leave out on a beautiful cookbook stand in your kitchen (that is what I plan to do with my copy! It will go perfectly with my French theme!) Perhaps my favorite part of the book is how it is organized. Each season has it's own section beginning with spring and ending with winter. On each section's title page there is a break down of each recipe in three sections- starters, main courses and desserts. The way the book is organized is why I feel like it would be a great book for a dinner party. No matter which season you are in, it gives you several choices from each type of food, so there are tons of great recipes to mix and match to make a perfect seasonal French dinner party. I would recommend this book to the home cook who enjoys exploring cuisines from other regions as well as any Francofiles who just enjoy having a little piece of France around!

Monday, November 17, 2014

Asperger Syndrome: The Oasis Guide by Patricia Romanowski Bashe (Book Review)

Disclosure of material connection- I received a copy of the book from the publisher via Blogging for Books. I was not required to write a positive review and all opinions stated are 100% my own.

About the book-

Since 2001, The OASIS Guide has been the reliable, comprehensive, authoritative guide to Asperger syndrome. This fully revised, updated, and expanded edition captures the latest in research, strategies, and parenting wisdom, and delivers it all in the empathetic, practical, and hope-filled styleThe OASIS Guide is famous for. Author Patricia Romanowski Bashe has revised this edition of Asperger Syndrome to reflect the latest in: 
·Working with Professionals: building a team, negotiating for your child, and keeping everyone’s focus on high expectations for academic, social, and emotional success.
·Special Education: from early intervention through transition, college, and other postsecondary options, including how special education works and steps to take when it does not.
· Health and Safety: sexuality education, health care, and insurance coverage, as well as understanding the real-life health and safety risks children with AS face and learning the steps that only parents can take to protect them.
·Options and Interventions: with an emphasis on established guidelines for evidence-based treatments, including medication, applied behavior analysis, cognitive-behavior therapy, Social Stories, Comic Strip Conversations, and much more. 
·Planning for the Future: Teaching today for independence tomorrow.
For anyone else with a life touched by AS, Asperger Syndrome: The OASIS Guide is packed with resources to handle any situation, from understanding a diagnosis, realistically evaluating options and interventions, and nurturing the whole child with an eye to emotional health, happiness, and independence in school, at home, and among friends. Raising young people with AS to grow up successful, safe, independent, and happy is the goal. Asperger Syndrome: The OASIS Guide is your map.

My thoughts-

I do not think at this point in my life that there are many people that I know who have been affected by austim in some way. Asperger's Syndrome has come more to the forefront in the last decade. It has been around far longer than that, but now that there are more people (particularly doctors and specialists) aware of it and what to look for, it is not as hard to come by a diagnosis as it once was. There are a few people in my own family who have been diagnosed with Asperger's. One of them did not get a concrete diagnosis until they were an adult because of how little was known about this syndrome in years past. Since Asperger's has personally touched my life in several very personal ways, I wanted to have a guide book on hand that I could turn to and be able to learn more about it. The Oasis Guide is a very large book. I have found it to be quite comprehensive and detailed. The author clearly is an authority on the subject and offers page upon page of advice on pretty anything relating to Aspergers (what Asperger's is, getting a diagnosis, different types of tests that might be done to reach the diagnosis, what kinds of specialists to see, how to cope, finding support groups, medicine, special education, ect.) Overall, I feel like it will be a very helpful book. The one thing I did not like about this book is that it is clear that the author does not have room in her thoughts for alternative medicine. I am definitely not a doctor or a specialist, but I do not think there is anything wrong with seeking alternatives to medication. I do think that medicines have their place, but I do not see anything wrong with seeking the thoughts of others and coming at it with an integrative mind set. That alone would not make me disregard this book. I think there is great advice in here and it is very helpful that it spans from childhood to adulthood in it's advice. I recommend this book to really anyone because whether you know it or not, you have probably met someone with Asperger's. Perhaps reading a book like this would help the "neuro-typical" population get a better grasp on the thought process of someone with Asperger's. I absolutely recommend this book to anyone looking to gain a better understanding of Asperger's, especially if someone close to you has been diagnosed. This is a book you can turn to year after year for reference.   

The Dress Shop of Dreams by Menna van Praag (Book Review)

*Disclosure of material connection- I received a copy of the book from the publisher via NetGalley. I was not required to write a positive review and all opinions stated are 100% my own. 

About the book-

For fans of Alice Hoffman, Sarah Addison Allen, and Adriana Trigiani, The Dress Shop of Dreams is a captivating novel of enduring hopes, second chances, and the life-changing magic of true love.

Since her parents’ mysterious deaths many years ago, scientist Cora Sparks has spent her days in the safety of her university lab or at her grandmother Etta’s dress shop. Tucked away on a winding Cambridge street, Etta’s charming tiny store appears quite ordinary to passersby, but the colorfully vibrant racks of beaded silks, delicate laces, and jewel-toned velvets hold bewitching secrets: With just a few stitches from Etta’s needle, these gorgeous gowns have the power to free a woman’s deepest desires.

Etta’s dearest wish is to work her magic on her granddaughter. Cora’s studious, unromantic eye has overlooked Walt, the shy bookseller who has been in love with her forever. Determined not to allow Cora to miss her chance at happiness, Etta sews a tiny stitch into Walt’s collar, hoping to give him the courage to confess his feelings to Cora. But magic spells—like true love—can go awry. After Walt is spurred into action, Etta realizes she’s set in motion a series of astonishing events that will transform Cora’s life in extraordinary and unexpected ways.


My thoughts- 

When there are multiple points of view from the characters in novels, sometimes things get a little too complicated or the author works so hard to give the back story that there just really ends up not being much to the characters overall. That was not the case with The Dress Shop of Dreams. Menna Van Praag did an excellent job of switching effortlessly between several characters throughout the story without losing the story in the midst of it all. I think when a novel interweaves several story lines and several points of view and it is done right, it really adds to the overall gelling of the story.  I think the title of the novel would probably lead people to believe that this is chick-lit, but I found this to be an entertaining contemporary novel that I think both men and women alike will enjoy. There is a little touch of mystery as Cora explores her parents death and learns whether it was really the accident that it seems. There are several love stories interwoven throughout and a little bit of magic that may guide some of that along. I really enjoyed seeing the change in cold, very scientific minded Cora, after some of Etta's magic. Every now and then when I read a book like this, in my head it read's like a play. I feel like I could easily see these characters interacting on the stage and it would flow so well. I love theatre and it takes a special novel to play out in my head specifically like that. I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys contemporary fiction.

Connect with Menna van Praag on Facebook
Connect with Menna van Praag on Twitter
Connect with Menna van Praag on Pinterest
Connect with Menna van Praag on Goodreads
www.mennavanpraag.com/

The Dress Shop of Dreams will be available December 30. You can pre-order it now on Amazon.com.





Sunday, November 16, 2014

Messy Beautiful Love by Darlene Schacht Review + Giveaway

Disclosure of material connection- I was provided a copy of the book from the publisher via the Family Christian Stores Blogger program. I was not required to write a positive review and all opinions stated are 100% my own.

About the book (from Goodreads)-

"Messy Beautiful Love" delivers an incredible testimony of grace that offers hope for today's marriages and a spark for rekindling love.

Love gets messy.

Financial problems, sickness, aging parents, a chronically unhappy spouse . . . trials will inevitably come that threaten your marriage. No matter how long you've been married or how strong your relationship is, sooner or later you are going to have a mess to clean up.

"Messy Beautiful Love" is about cleaning up messes God's way, exchanging your ideas for His, and being prepared for both the best and the worst that marriage has to offer.

When you surrender your relationship to God, then and only then will you experience the blessing of marriage as He intended. This is the blessing of obedience. "Messy Beautiful Love" is an invitation to that obedience. The cynical world says marriages don't last, but God knows better. Tune out the world and tune in to Him. When you do that, a beautiful marriage is not only possible, it's inevitable.


My thoughts-

I think it is important to continually read books about relationships, whether that be books about parenting, books about marriage or books about a relationship with God. It is vital to continually seek to improve all of these relationships and reading other people's points of view or advice is a great way to get a fresh or insightful look on things. Most books about relationships are written by people who seem like they really have it together which is totally great, but sometimes it is nice to come across a book with a person who feels more real. Who has had their downfalls. Who humbly shares their mistakes in order encourage other couples to persevere in their marriage and to continually work on it together with your spouse. Darlene Schacht definitely does that in Messy Beautiful Love: Hope and Redemption for Real-Life Marriages. It is evident throughout the book that Mrs. Schacht feels lead to share her testimony to encourage other couples in their relationship. There are plenty of illustrations of personal stories from Schacht's life, and great lessons tied into the telling of these stories. One of the things I like best about this book is the challenge at the end of each chapter to think about and apply to your relationship with your husband, as well as some great prayers to pray about your marriage. This would make a good book for a newlywed and a more seasoned wife alike. We can all take away lessons from this great book to apply to our marriages!

About the author-

Darlene Schacht is writer of the popular Time-Warp Wife blog and is the original founder of Christian Women Online Magazine and the Internet Cafe Devotions. She also co-authored Reshaping It All: Motivation for Physical and Spiritual Fitness with Candace Cameron Bure. She and her husband Michael have been married for more than 25 years. Together they have 4 children.

Connect with Family Christian Bloggers on Facebook
Connect with Darlene Schacht on Facebook
Connect with Darlene Schacht on Twitter
Connect with Darlene Schacht on Pinterest
Connect with Darlene Schacht on Goodreads
http://messybeautifullove.com/

Enter below via the Rafflecopter for your chance to win a copy of the book. 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Saturday, November 15, 2014

Pacific Rim Riesling + Sara Lee = A Perfect , Easy, Affordable Pair!

Disclosure of material connection- I received one or more of the products mentioned in exchange for my honest thoughts. Regardless, all opinions stated are 100% my own.

In less than two weeks, it will be time to gather around the table with our families and friends, give thanks for what we have and enjoy good food and good company. One of the biggest components of Thanksgiving is the big meal. Many of us spend hours in the kitchen preparing the perfect feast for our families and friends. The star of Thanksgiving, of course, is the turkey, but in my family a big party of Thanksgiving are the wide assortment of desserts.  We have a very large gathering, so we do things pot luck style. This Thanksgiving, let Sara Lee cover the dessert for you. They have a ton of great desserts to chose from. Some of my favorite Sara Lee desserts include pumpkin pie, pound cake and, of course, cheesecake. You can even dress up a Sara Lee dessert and make it look like you worked hours on it in the kitchen. I recently bought a Sara Lee Cheesecake, let it defrost just enough, scooped out the cheesecake, melted some chocolate to roll it around in and voila- cheesecake truffles. These made an excellent date night treat for my husband and me and paired easily with Pacific Rim's Riesling, but you could also make a huge batch to take to your Thanksgiving meal to feed everyone and take an affordable bottle of Pacific Rim Riesling as a  hostess gift!

Sara Lee and Pacific Rim make an excellent and affordable pair. They want to help make your holiday meals come together. If you head over to the Pacific Rim website, there are some other great recipes to give a try this wonderful time of year (Salted Caramel Turtle Pumpkin Pie anyone? How about Peppermint Bark cheesecake?) There is something for everyone!


Connect with Pacific Rim on Facebook
Connect with Pacific Rim on Twitter



Monday, November 10, 2014

Before I Go by Colleen Oakley (Book Review)

*Disclosure of material connection- I received a copy of the book from the publisher via NetGalley. I was not required to write a positive review and all opinions stated are 100% my own.

About the book-

A heart-wrenching debut novel in the bestselling tradition of P.S. I Love You about a young woman with breast cancer who undertakes a mission to find a new wife for her husband before she passes away.

Twenty-seven-year-old Daisy already beat breast cancer three years ago. How can this be happening to her again?

On the eve of what was supposed to be a triumphant “Cancerversary” with her husband Jack to celebrate three years of being cancer-free, Daisy suffers a devastating blow: her doctor tells her that the cancer is back, but this time it’s an aggressive stage four diagnosis. She may have as few as four months left to live. Death is a frightening prospect—but not because she’s afraid for herself. She’s terrified of what will happen to her brilliant but otherwise charmingly helpless husband when she’s no longer there to take care of him. It’s this fear that keeps her up at night, until she stumbles on the solution: she has to find him another wife.

With a singular determination, Daisy scouts local parks and coffee shops and online dating sites looking for Jack’s perfect match. But the further she gets on her quest, the more she questions the sanity of her plan. As the thought of her husband with another woman becomes all too real, Daisy’s forced to decide what’s more important in the short amount of time she has left: her husband’s happiness—or her own?


My thoughts-

This was an interesting premise for a book. It made me ponder if I were faced with a certain amount of time left, what would happen to the people I love after I was gone? That said, this book kind of drove me crazy. I understand the idea of wanting to make sure your husband is taken care of after your gone and I also understand keeping yourself busy to keep your mind off of things, but I want to think if I were in the same position I would try to spend every second possible with my husband, Daisy seems to be doing her best to push hers away. It becomes an obsession for her. I am sad for their marriage and for Daisy and for Jack through almost the entire story. The scenes with her and now off limits food that she knows too much about are so sad as well. I can not imagine the thought process someone who has been given months to live I just don't even know what I would do. It was a sad novel, it would be impossible to be given the subject matter, but I liked the overall tone of the story and how things ended, the last chapter of the book was definitely the highlight of Before I Go. I would recommend this book to anyone who likes contemporary fiction, especially books dealing with relationships between husbands and wives while dealing with a tragedy.

Connect with Colleen Oakley on Facebook
Connect with Colleen Oakley on Twitter
Connect with Colleen Oakley on Goodreads
CollenOakley.com
Before I Go will be available on January 6, 2015. You can pre-order it now on Amazon.com.