Tuesday, May 3, 2016

Only in Naples by Katherine Wilson (Book Review)

Disclosure of material connection- I received a copy of the book from the publisher in exchange for my honest thoughts. I was not required to write a positive review and all opinions stated are 100% my own. 

About the book-

In the tradition of M. F. K. Fisher and Peter Mayle, this enchantingly warm and witty memoir follows American-born Katherine Wilson on her adventures abroad, where a three-month rite of passage in Naples turns into a permanent embrace of this boisterous city on the Mediterranean. It is all thanks to a surprising romance, a new passion for food, and a spirited woman who will become her mother-in-law—and teach her to laugh, to seize joy, and to love.

My thoughts-

I love reading books about people who have moved to foreign countries. I am an avid traveler and it is possible in my free time I day dream about high tailing it out of the States and moving to France or Switzerland. Since I can't do that I like to live vicariously through others and Naples sounded like a fantastic place to learn about. I  obviously enjoyed reading about the culture, the food, and the romantic notion of studying abroad, but what I loved more was learning about Katherine Wilson's family (THE Wilson family, as in the sporting goods company), and her in laws that she inherited as she fell in love in Naples. I enjoyed having a glimpse into  falling in love in Italy, having an Italian mother in law and coming together mainly through food for pretty much any situation. I am, also a sucker for books that include recipes at the end, so that really sealed the deal of my enjoyment of Only in Naples. I would recommend this book to anyone who likes reading about other cultures, Italy, food, or has ever considered moving abroad. It was a great read and I feel more acquainted with Naples than before. It has been added to my never ending list of places I must visit someday!

No comments:

Post a Comment